Sponsored by the COIN-OR Foundation.

Announcing the tenth annual "COIN-OR Cup" competition

Previous Winners


  • A submission or nomination must contain:
    1. A synopsis of an effective use of COIN-OR or valuable contribution to COIN-OR (or both!).
    2. An explanation of its significance.
  • The winner must accept the prize in person at the 2014 INFORMS meeting — so we can all celebrate appropriately (see "Celebration" below).
  • Submission deadline: Wednesday, October 15, 2014
  • Please email submissions to: coin-cup at
  • Self-nomination is welcomed.
  • We especially encourage nominations of effective use of COIN-OR that the community may not know about.

Submissions will be judged by a committee including members of the COIN-OR Foundation, Inc.


The 2014 COIN-OR Cup will be awarded at a celebration during the INFORMS Annual meeting in San Francisco, CA. All entrants, their supporters, and other interested parties are welcome to join in the celebration and regale, rile, and roast the prize winners. The celebration will take place

Monday, November 10th
7:30 pm – late
Bluestem Brasserie
1 Yerba Buena Lane

This year's COIN-OR Cup celebration will be combined with a celebration to honour Brenda Dietrich, JP Fasano, John Forrest, Lou Hafer, Brady Hunsaker, Laszlo Ladanyi, Robin Lougee, Ted Ralphs, and Matthew Saltzman, recipients of the 2014 INFORMS Impact Prize.

Details of the winning entry will be announced at this celebration event, and posted on the COIN-OR Cup website.

Please e-mail your submissions to coin-cup at

Enter, come, possibly win, and raise your cup with us!